Skip to content ↓

Small Heath School

Staff List

Please click here for full Teaching staff list

Please click here for full Support staff list

Senior Leadership Structure

Senior Leadership Team – Subject and Year Group Links – Summer Term 2016

Tony Wilson (Interim Headteacher) 

Ethos / Vision / Standards

I am delighted and honoured to be the new headteacher of Small Heath School and Sixth Form Centre. This is the third school that I have led and I bring with me the experience of having been part of the leadership of outstanding schools as well as those in challenging circumstances. Additionally, I helped lead the education reform programme in the Kingdom of Bahrain for four years and am able to utilise the world’s best practice to drive forward the school improvement process at Small Heath School.  I can also draw upon my experience of being a proud father of two secondary school aged children in relating to the aspirations and concerns of young people and their parents. In the quality time we have as a family, we enjoy foreign travel and watching football and rugby. For my own part, I continue to attempt to play cricket and perform in the plays produced by my local community theatre group taking as my motto ‘The older I get, the better I was!’

Enass Al-Ani (Deputy Headteacher)

Teaching & Learning, Daily organisation and responsibility of Upper School

I am thrilled to join the leadership team at Small Heath School and lead Teaching and Learning - an area that is very close to my heart! Having worked in a range of diverse schools I understand the importance of community cohesion and working together to achieve the best for our students and the school. I started my career as a Maths teacher in an outstanding school and then moved to teach in a Boys’ school for six years where I became an Advanced Skills Teacher.  After that I worked in a challenging school as an Assistant Principal where I gained a wide range of experience that enabled me to progress to a Deputy Headteacher role in a very large school in the West Midlands before joining Small Heath. My passion is to provide all of our students high quality learning experiences that allow them to reach their full potential and equip them for the future.

Simon Adams (Deputy Headteacher)

PD, Behaviour & Welfare, Daily organisation &  responsibility of Lower School

I am originally from Watford, but after stops in Cardiff and Leeds, I ended up in the Midlands in my early twenties. I have two secondary school age children, so as a parent, I understand how important it is for a school to look after and nurture a young person to ensure they meet their potential, both socially and academically. Before arriving in Small Heath, I held the positions of a Year Leader, Head of Department and Assistant Headteacher in different schools. I have now been at Small Heath School as an Assistant Headteacher for nearly five years, and I have never worked in a school where the students and community have been so supportive, friendly and a pleasure to be be with. I am currently Head of Sixth Form and am leading this area in a time of change to ensure that we are delivering fantastic opportunities that enable our young people to be very successful and make the next step to University or into the world of work. This journey starts in Year 7 and it is imperative that we support our pupils throughout their time with us so they can achieve their dreams and become highly respected young people in their own right.

(HR Manager)

Personnel Matters & Staffing



Pete Ford (Assistant Headteacher)

Outcomes & Assessments

I originate from the Midlands, am married and have a young son. Therefore I recognise the importance placed on family values which is behind everything we try to encourage here at Small Heath School. Since joining the education sector in 2002 I have gained experience working in three other secondary schools, before being thrilled to join Small Heath in January 2015. During my time in education I have worked in pastoral positions and also been a Head of Department.  My role at Small Heath School is based around ensuring that there is an environment to ensure effective Teaching and Learning. This is done by ensuring students personal well-being allows them to feel safe and secure to learn. Based at Lower School I am here to ensure safety and behaviour is as we would expect, in order for your child to reach their potential.

Dan Marshall (Assistant Headteacher)

Technologies & Communications

Originally from the Midlands I moved down to Hampshire to study at the University of Southampton. In 2001 I started my teaching career as a teacher of ICT, I soon became a Key Stage coordinator in a large school in Gosport, Hampshire. I was then appointed as Faculty Leader for Digital Studies at a 4 to 16 ‘all-through’ school in Winchester where as part of the Extended Senior Leadership team I led whole school ICT strategy and worked with Hampshire County Council on a number of development projects. In my spare time I like to travel and have more recently been involved in a charity project, building a school in Ghana. My role at Small Heath has two key parts; Communications and developing the way in which we communicate with all of our stakeholders and developing the safe use of the latest Technologies across the school with a focus on teaching and learning and ensuring great outcomes for our pupils.

Rod Deaves (Interim Assistant Headteacher)

Post16 (6th Form)

I have worked at Small Heath School since 2006 as Team Leader for Design and Technology and have thoroughly enjoyed working with our pupils and ensuring they always have interesting learning experiences so they can make maximum progress and realise their full potential. I have been teaching since 1997 in a variety of Birmingham schools. I have always understood the importance of school being at the heart of the community and the duty we have as teachers to serve the community. Since being at Small Heath School, I have often said to friends, family and colleagues that I could not imagine working anywhere else! I am therefore very proud to be recently appointed as Head of Sixth Form and am very much looking forward to moving the Sixth Form forward. I want to ensure our Sixth Form provision is the very best it can be and be the perfect stepping stone for our students for the next phase of their lives.